Log 3

Friday, Febuary 2nd 2018, 12:07 hours.

Wednesday afternoon there were a series of meetings that I attended, all were Military or Veteran related. As I mentioned previously both of my parents are Air Force veterans and both are members of the local American Legion. My father is also part of the Southern Kentucky Venterans council, and both he and I were members of the Western Kentucky University, Student Veterans Alliance.

So the first meeting was the SOKY Council that I tagged along to and listened in on what’s going on in the community. Then the SVA meeting, which I wanted to make an appearance at and say goodbye to everyone. They all wished me luck (most in a teasing way, “it’s the air force you’ll have steak and lobster on the weekends”) and it was fun hearing all of their stories from basic training. All of us are from different branches so they were all poking fun at each other and it was a really good time. Helped me relax a lot more as I’m getting a bit anxious as the day approches. Lastly was the American Legion meeting where I was asked to stand up so they could announce the next generation is leaving for basic. I’ve been recognized at events before for various things but this felt way different. A whole room of military vets cheering for me and individually coming up to me later wishing me luck and telling me they were proud was an incredible feeling. I’m more excited about leaving than nervous now.

However the best feeling came after the meetings when I received a package in the mail from a mentor and friend from the WKU Military Student Services. Inside was a letter, a beautiful journal and a coin.

My first challenge coin. I almost cried I was so happy. I have a few coins from other people’s retirements, events and such but this was FOR ME, and that was incredible. I thought my first coin would have been the Airman coin you get at basic graduation, this was unexpected and totally made my week.

I am super hyped now and ready to go.

Aim High. Fly. Fight. Win.

Spartan 094 logging off.

Leave a comment