Log 4 (Go Time)

Monday, February 5th 2018, 19:07 hours.

I am a pessimistic, worst case seniaro type of person. That way I’m either right, or things go better than expected. This morning things got off to a rough start. I thought anything that could go wrong would.

The restaurant I want to eat at was closed, the second choice served us burnt food, then my recruiter was late. (Sick kids, not his fault) THEN to top it all off the shuttle forgot me and had to turn around to come pick me up. (That caused another person to be late for his ASVAB but only by a few mins it was fine)

I got to the hotel and got checked in without a problem, however the room was 59 degrees when I got in! FIFTY NINE! (I set it to 78 until it warmed up)

I waited about 2 hours for a roommate to appear before deciding I didn’t have one and went down for diner. I got off the elevator on the wrong floor and found a circus(??) convention going on. I’m not exactly sure what was happening, there were posters about tigers and a man in a ring leader suit but they were all dressed fancy and had champagne so ????

Once I found the cafe (where I’m writing currently) and got seated I felt bit nostalgic since this is the exact seat I sat in with my MEPS roommate months ago. I sent her a message with a picture and talked to her a bit. It’s weird that I feel lonely since this is literally the last night I have to myself before 8 weeks of rooming with 60 others.

After I finish eating I’ll return to the room, probably watch some tv then try and get some sleep before a 4:15 wakeup call.

This will be my last log for 8 weeks, though I will update with experiences from BMT as soon as I can.

I’m not nervous anymore, I’m going to use my advantage of being older and from a military family to fake confidence and hopefully help some of the younger members of my flight. If I stay calm and collected maybe they will be able to look to that and relax a bit themselves.

So until I get to Tech School,

Spartan 094, logging off.

*update

I took some pictures of the convention on my way to the elevator

** update #2

At 21:40 hours my roommate arrived. Also shipping tomorrow which means we will likely be on the same plane and the same flight. Will help to know at least one person when we get there.

Leave a comment